Skip to content

Who needs Heart burn when you have Paleo.

16/07/2010

In my last post, I discussed the path to the Paleo lifestyle for me. The health benefits from the Paleo lifestyle. Well, there is of course more to it than that. Heartburn, we all have it, I had it for as long as I can remember. I can remember having it as a kid, is that even possible? I have been heartburn free since changing to the Paleo lifestyle. It’s been fun, see you later! Now, I can say there is a huge correlation. When I am off the diet, i.e. eating the wrong stuff, get it back with a vengeance!

Let’s talk for a minute about heartburn and GERD (Gastro esophageal reflux disease). I, like most of us, was brought up by the TV ads and print ads telling me I can reduce the acid in my stomach that causes all those sleepless nights by popping a few TUMS. All that stomach acid from that spicy Thai dinner is creeping up the back of your throat. All that can be stopped with May lox. I had a tub of TUMS in the car, in my desk drawer, at home and usually (just in case) I carried a roll in my pocket. I was a boy scout after all! I could be seen ingesting these tabs by the handful. Then, they came out with the OTC pills. I think I already mentioned my avarice to medication. Well this was the ONE and only exception. I was religious to the pill. Every day, pop my little pink pill and my heartburn worries would fly away. By the end of the day, I would have to really plan my meals, god forbid I eat something spicy when my PILL is wearing off! It was a part time job. Well, that honeymoon ended, again, the pill thing.

Well, the Paleo diet has changed all of that and I have been heartburn free for over 6 months. In fact, during my research I stumbled upon an article written by The Healthy Skeptic.

http://thehealthyskeptic.org/how-your-antacid-drug-is-making-you-sick-part-a

I highly recommend all four parts of that article. It is very convincing. Think back to all of those TV ads and print ads. Now think of what the pharmaceuticals are doing to the heartburn industry. Imagine if they can do that with something so simple. What can they do with all of the other ailments of society, diseases of civilization?

I am no alarmist or conspiracy nut. When it is proof in my body, it is true.

Now, what can be better than heartburn going away? How about more energy, better sleep and a much healthier outlook on life.

No more tossing and turning to get to sleep. I no longer need to have a TV on to go to sleep. I can now make it to work in the morning without feeling as if I am going to end in the ditch from falling asleep.

The proof is in the pudding, even if you can’t eat the damn pudding!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

