Skip to content

Swimming

25/01/2011

This will be a 12 part look into the 12 basics of movement. To summarize the 12 movements are;

Walking – part I

Running – part II

Jumping – part III

Moving on all fours – part IV

Balancing – part V

Climbing – part VI

Lifting – part VII

Carrying – part VIII

Throwing – part IX

Catching – part X

Defending – part XI

Swimming

 

This week we will look into the twelfth and last of the essential movements.

image0032

Swimming

I am not Michael Phelps. Nor have I ever been mistaken for him.

I will go so far as to say I hate swimming only because I never learned. I can tread water and I can doggy paddle. But, that is the extent to my horrible water skills.

Swimming is a very natural part of our lives.

We began in a sack of water, so it is only natural that we gravitate towards water. In a post around the New Year I talked about no more resolutions for me! Well this IS one of the many goals I implemented for myself. I have plans for a triathlon this year you know!

Well as I write this, I still have not obtained my swimming badge not do I have a plan for this. I need to get cracking on this.

Nothing like sloughing off a post, especially the last of the series. I know nothing of swimming!

I am going to have to rely on others for this essential movement as I am obviously still learning its rightful place.

In the comments section let me know what you do for swimming. I am interested in those without gym memberships, or pool memberships. Who takes a dip in the Mighty Miss? Local ponds? Kiddy pools?

Hit up the comment section. And I will come back to this one in a future posting.

Bye for now.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

