Skip to content

I recently visited a local farm and all I got was this crummy picture!

23/06/2011

I recently visited a local farm and all I got was this crummy picture!

This farm was having a “Moo brunch” where we got to come in and tour the facilities, see the animals. It was a truly disturbing and disgusting experience. From the poor animals being confined to shit infested stalls and pens. To the obvious poor diet. It took us all of about half an hour to give up and leave. Our youngest daughter loved the cows, so we had to stay and allow her to play.

I think this weekend I may try and squeeze in a tour of our local grassfed, prairie raised farm. Where they love their animals for who they are not what they produce or what they mean to the bottom line.

I would love to put one of these farmers in a 10 by 3 foot cell and see how they taste and produce afterwards!

Oh, wait; we only reserve those cells for the worst of the worst in our society. I guess that and our food.

Onto a happier subject.

 

I recently decided to move onto my next goal. This year I will compete in the Warrior Dash in the upper Midwest. I chose the Warrior Dash over the equally tough, Tough Mudder for the cost and the length. I felt my first challenge should at least somewhat be within reach!

The Warrior Dash is 3.08 miles of “hellish obstacles”. I may have to disagree just on the visuals alone, they seem like an everyday type obstacle being run by those that have lost their focus on life. I understand it is difficult to go from running through a forest straight into crawling through a tunnel, over a hale bale mound, through a mud pit, under barbed wire, through a salvage yard, over a wooden wall and finishing by leaping over a steaming pile of…fire. All seems pretty natural to me. At least it should.

Like most things on this blog, they all come back to natural fitness, MOVNAT or a paleo/primal lifestyle. These are certainly not common everyday obstacles by no means. Not to say any one of those normal gym rats can’t and don’t compete well in this. But to think of a hay mound or a salvage yard obstacles as foreign or obscure to a caveman would be a disgrace to our community. I certainly hope all this rings true in September when I am actually out there on said hay mounds and salvage yard obstacles! I hope that with my training and in the next three months, I can compete in this and have some serious fun. It will certainly be a proving ground for natural movement. I would certainly rather practice them there then during the zombie apocalypse or some other natural disaster!

The video embedded above is of my normal stomping grounds. The rock quarry. I spend a lot of my training time there, and of course my uber cool backyard. This and the video embedded below are taken as snippets of my trail run from the other day. (In my cool Minimus shoes!) This is also a great place to find rocks of all sizes. I do not of course recommend spending time in a real rock quarry, as that could be dangerous. This is a deforested hill, for the limestone beneath. Without this beautiful piece of nature we now have a bank!

I couldn’t quite find a way to video my climbing a tree or too many jumps. This was using my IPhone, so any type of dangerous activity is limited, “I will not break it, I will not break it, I will not drop it, I will not drop it”, is muttered at all times. Now I could hire one of my kids to video these things but a: they can’t keep up with me, 2: they don’t understand spacial tracking III: I bore them! Now, notice the form, the udder grace of the run. Whatever you do, do not notice the heaving breaths that are being taken.

I know staring at the ground is really cool huh?

Now, I have spoken at length in the past on my repulsive, loathsome, abhorrence, revulsion, spurn and any other name I can think of for running. But, I can undeniable say; it is getting better with time. I went for a jog a Saturday ago, and actually enjoyed it. I found a great trail through the country that is used by the local schools for cross country meets. So really, seeing deer, turkey and having a butterfly pace me for a few yards, this made it fun. I think most of my revulsion stems from the pain in my knees and lower back. Which is waning due to my barefoot activities and shoes. Whereas the bulk of my time running is spent sprinting. I am starting to enjoy the peacefully feeling of being alone in a field or on a trail. What do you prefer, running or sprinting?

SUMMER!

Summer has finally arrived, only a day old and already missed. What’s even worse is all of the dread I already have for the coming winter and the shoes that it brings. Course the snow, ice and frakking cold don’t help either.

Where in the hell has all the spring gone? We did finally get out and go to a local watering hole. There is a beautiful lake in the central Wisconsin area called Devils Lake. This is a giant glacially made bowl. Beautiful trails and hiking grounds, and if you are smart you get online or on Google maps and find some of the local treasures of trails that pot mark throughout the region, you are better off. From Parfrey’s Glen to Pewit’s nest, there’s a wonderful amount of attractions that can keep you and your cavekids busy. Last year I took the three rugrats out for a day of exploring and hiking. I included these locations and a few others. All barefoot and all primal. No technology was allowed unless it was for pictures and video.

Pewit’s Nest

This video was taken last year after some serious flooding.

What do you do on the weekend to keep your cavefamily busy?

Do you mandate shoelessness, chores, caveraves (?), anything? There are times when we struggle to think of what to do next. There are times that I will sit (yeah, yeah I know) at my desk at work and pour over Google Earth, finding a state park, trail or a posted picture of a local attraction. Using Google Earth is a surprisingly easy way to find local, out of the way, off the wall attractions. Give it a try, bring up

, switch to “Earth”, verify photos are chosen in the drop down menu and just start looking for something cool. You can of course download the program itself here.

Final thoughts,

I have seen a few new faces around here. Welcome to the experiment. This site was created as a vehicle for my own thoughts through a new phase. It has tried to educate (failure), extrapolate (failure), indoctrinate (failure) and evaluate (oh hai, success!) the primal lifestyle. I am educated, both scholarly and socially. But, to me, my voice was never asked for nor needed. I passed on the message passed onto me. This seems to work? I guess? Like today’s post, I like to show off that I actually do things. I try to conspicuously show off my Cavefamily. I would love to gather together a group of like minded people, but have failed there as well. I have decided to end this experiment several times just to keep coming back. This has all been very cathartic and rewarding to me, not so much you; the reader! I want to be like the rest of our primal, natural movement family, but sadly, I find my voice to be the whisper in the corner.

All of this is fine with me. I will continue to pass along others wisdom with a few tidbits of my own. I am nothing more than a Midwestern father, I have a libertarian view and voice (which most hate me for), I live primal, raising three beautiful girls and enjoying life.

Share your story with me.

Follow me on Twitter.

Follow me on Facebook. (I’m never there but post stories I find)

Give me a shout out.

The sidebar to the right is a whole host of smarter people than I, follow them but please come back. Bring some friends; I’ll keep the fire going. Make sure to wipe your barefeet at the door, mind the killer gato’s. Enjoy your stay.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 24/06/2011 5:10 pm

    What’s all over the cow’s snout? 😦 Around here (Western WA), I only see happy cows out on green grass fields. I used to think that’s how all cows were raised, sadly that’s not true.

    Glad I came across your blog! Look forward to reading more. 🙂 I’m a libertarian and believe in natural fitness too!

    • 24/06/2011 9:54 pm

      Well thank you. That means a lot to me. I now have more than three readers!
      A lot of our dairy farms coral the cows in cement paddocks. Ass to face, squeeze them in as tight as they can. It was horrible. What is on the snout is a mix of shit, grains and feed. Their food is deposited inside and outside their paddock.
      There are a few prairie raised farms but they are few and far between. I hope to make a lossy on this difference one day. It is stark and brutal to witness.
      Thanks again
      Robert

Leave a Reply

