Skip to content

So what is health anyway?

14/07/2011

So what is health?

That dirty six letter word.

To be healthy is in the eye of the beholder. I wouldn’t necessarily call a vegan healthy, but I am sure they will swear up and down they are far healthier than I. I wouldn’t call my teenager healthy either; cheetos are not a food group after all.

So what is health than. Let’ stake a look at two examples;

Healthis the level of functional and (or) metabolic efficiency of a living being. Inhumans, it is the general condition of apersonin mind, body and spirit, usually meaning to be free fromillness,injuryorpain(as in “good health” or “healthy”).” – Wikipedia

“A state of complete physical, mental, and social well-being and not merely the absence of disease or infirmity.” – World Health Organization (WHO)

I think both of these entries hit it on the head. Health to one could be that they got out of bed this morning. Others could say, just because they eat well that is health. So are they all right?

Is health a snap shot or a panoramic all encompassing view? A snap shot would say I ate a health chicken sandwich from McDonalds sans bun and feel great about it.

I see two contrasting views in my opinion.

A: You have your gym rat that grunts in the corner doing deadlifts, sweat needlessly all over the equipment and generally bully most patrons. Yet another shining example of why I no longer do the gym thing.

I guarantee this muscle head can out bench, deadlift and generally lift everything more than I can. Can this guy scratch his back? Can he even bend over to tie his shoe? If he’s’ British, can he even see mister winkie?

This is a bulging example of what I don’t consider good health. This muscle head probably ingests around 5000 calories a day, if not more. Starves and dehydrates himself on a regular basis just to “Pop” at shows. My educated guess is this guy is from New Jersey too!

On a serious note though. This guy could no doubt heft me from a burning building with ease, though his stamina is in question. Could he scale a wall to get to me? Could he crawl through a burning house to get to his own kid? Could he swim a half mile to save a kids ball? And swim all the way back with it? Real life Fitness, real life health doesn’t come from a gym or bulging biceps.

B: You have your skinny, marathoner, vegan, vegetarian person. Swears up and down that they are clean, healthy, organic and all natural. (I wouldn’t even eat them if I was a cannibal; you know all that grain shit!).

Now I know what you’re saying, Justin!!!! AAAHHHHHH!!! No seriously, Justin may or may not be a vegan, vegatofu lover etc… It was more “Pop” than purpose. This is a very common body type that is touted as healthy.

I pose the same questions. Obviously this type of frame could never lift my six foot 210lb body. Let alone carry it out of the burning building. This body type could certainly drag me. Swimming, throwing, climbing all the same questions. Could excel where our gym rat falters.

Is it healthy though?

I believe I have taken the wrong context here. Like most, I have assigned a perception of health to a “look”.

In my mind I KNOW, this is the frame that could lift me from a burning building, rescue me from the lake, at least have the stamina to figure a way to save both of our lives and still have enough for a trail run afterwards.

I know what you’re thinking; this is Erwan Le Corre, of Movnat fame! Yah! Gold star for you for following my drivel long enough to know this. I know this is the type of person that can do these things because I know the training he puts his body through. I isn’t and can’t even be classed as training since he is just moving through life.

So what does all this mean?

This country if not the planet needs to change their thinking on what health is. There is more to just a “healthy” diet or “healthy” exercise. There needs to be a constant. There needs to be a mold. Above all there needs to be a complete enema of the thought process.

I was brought to this post by a tweet from Erwan. In 5 to 10 years will this be a staple of the diet and class schedule in schools? In Gym classes across the country, kids will be re-educated on natural movement. I guess in kids speak its just what they normaly do. So what the hell would we call it then. How about recess!

We truly need to keep our kids in the natural way, lest they sit on the couch and play video games. I still have to drag my kids out at times to play!

I think we can all agree that people still consider health to be the gym membership part of their diet. Because as we all know, calories in equal calories out. As long as I spend an extra 15 minutes on the elliptical, I’ll burn it off. Oh, how wrong can you be!

Hell, even I am still having a problem excepting that what I eat is far more important than how many push-ups I do.

And now…for something completely different….

Now that the year is half over, I realized I haven’t posted anything from the back yard playground this year! I need to get on that as I have added 40’ of 1 ½” of manila rope to the mix.

I have decided to run in the Upper Midwest Warrior Dash in September. I hope to have a disposable camera with me for super extreme shots!

Next week I will try and squeeze out a post on more of my thoughts and will try and get some of the backyard extravaganza. I will be on vacation in the northwoods the following week, so I promise to update you all on my adventures in the fun and sun and doused with a lot of alcohol!

Be sure to follow me on twitter and Facebook for uploads on the go.

Ruggerone on Twitter

Facebook page

 

Check in with me and let me know who you are and how to follow you as well.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

